Idaho home prices
$446,400
Median value of owner-occupied homes in Idaho, as owners estimate it, 2024 (estimate)
+4.2% since 2023 ($428,600); +74.9% since 2019 ($255,200); +170.1% since 2014 ($165,300)
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates. Data period 2024. Status: estimate. Published .
Median value of owner-occupied housing units, as estimated by the owner.
Change and comparison
From 2010 ($165,100) to 2024 ($446,400), the change was +170.4%.
The latest figure, 2024, is the highest in the series, which begins in 2010.
Among 50 states and the District of Columbia, Idaho ranked 14th highest in 2024. Hawaii was highest at $875,900 and West Virginia lowest at $170,800.
Among Idaho and its 6 neighboring states, Idaho ranks 5th highest; Nevada is next above at $455,500 and Montana next below at $425,400.
Idaho's figure is 123.8% of the national figure of $360,600.
Historical data
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates. Published .
Data table (14 rows)
| Period | Idaho (dollars) | United States (dollars) | Montana (dollars) | Nevada (dollars) | Oregon (dollars) | Utah (dollars) | Washington (dollars) | Wyoming (dollars) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | $165,100 | $179,900 | $181,200 | $174,800 | $244,500 | $217,200 | $271,800 | $180,100 |
| 2011 | $158,800 | $173,600 | $184,100 | $158,000 | $232,900 | $207,500 | $256,300 | $179,900 |
| 2012 | $154,500 | $171,900 | $184,800 | $150,700 | $223,900 | $199,700 | $243,000 | $187,400 |
| 2013 | $159,000 | $173,900 | $190,100 | $165,300 | $229,700 | $211,400 | $250,800 | $195,500 |
| 2014 | $165,300 | $181,200 | $196,800 | $192,100 | $239,800 | $223,200 | $266,200 | $201,000 |
| 2015 | $176,300 | $194,500 | $209,500 | $221,400 | $264,100 | $234,600 | $284,000 | $212,500 |
| 2016 | $189,400 | $205,000 | $217,200 | $239,500 | $287,100 | $250,300 | $306,400 | $209,500 |
| 2017 | $207,100 | $217,600 | $231,300 | $258,200 | $319,200 | $275,100 | $339,000 | $214,300 |
| 2018 | $233,100 | $229,700 | $249,200 | $292,200 | $341,800 | $303,300 | $373,100 | $230,500 |
| 2019 | $255,200 | $240,500 | $253,600 | $317,800 | $354,600 | $330,300 | $387,600 | $235,200 |
| 2021 | $369,300 | $281,400 | $322,800 | $373,000 | $422,700 | $421,700 | $485,700 | $266,400 |
| 2022 | $432,500 | $320,900 | $366,400 | $434,700 | $475,600 | $499,500 | $569,500 | $292,300 |
| 2023 | $428,600 | $340,200 | $392,300 | $441,100 | $484,800 | $517,700 | $576,000 | $298,700 |
| 2024 | $446,400 | $360,600 | $425,400 | $455,500 | $497,500 | $545,200 | $602,200 | $339,500 |
By county
The headline figure above is in 2024; this comparison is in 2020–2024.
Dollars
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 5-Year Estimates. Data period 2020-2024. Published .
- $212,900 to $267,879
- $267,880 to $301,359
- $301,360 to $356,199
- $356,200 to $412,219
- $412,220 to $735,300
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 5-Year Estimates. Data period 2020-2024. Published .
Data table (44 rows)
| County | 2020–2024 |
|---|---|
| Blaine County | $735,300 |
| Teton County | $690,500 |
| Valley County | $657,000 |
| Kootenai County | $518,700 |
| Ada County | $512,300 |
| Bonner County | $487,900 |
| Boise County | $476,100 |
| Gem County | $428,700 |
| Madison County | $414,800 |
| Boundary County | $410,500 |
| Jefferson County | $408,400 |
| Canyon County | $390,000 |
| Custer County | $381,700 |
| Adams County | $376,500 |
| Franklin County | $372,600 |
| Bonneville County | $368,800 |
| Latah County | $368,600 |
| Owyhee County | $359,800 |
| Payette County | $341,800 |
| Twin Falls County | $337,900 |
| Nez Perce County | $334,700 |
| Lemhi County | $326,100 |
| Elmore County | $316,500 |
| Fremont County | $314,200 |
| Idaho County | $310,200 |
| Camas County | $304,000 |
| Bannock County | $300,700 |
| Benewah County | $293,500 |
| Bingham County | $293,300 |
| Cassia County | $284,600 |
| Washington County | $278,100 |
| Bear Lake County | $275,000 |
| Oneida County | $272,000 |
| Jerome County | $271,800 |
| Clearwater County | $268,200 |
| Shoshone County | $267,400 |
| Minidoka County | $262,600 |
| Lincoln County | $255,600 |
| Gooding County | $250,900 |
| Caribou County | $241,500 |
| Lewis County | $225,300 |
| Butte County | $217,600 |
| Clark County | $216,900 |
| Power County | $212,900 |
Compared with other states
Dollars
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates. Data period 2024. Published .
An excerpt; the full table is below.
| State | 2024 |
|---|---|
| 1. Hawaii | $875,900 |
| 2. California | $759,500 |
| 3. District of Columbia | $733,400 |
| 4. Massachusetts | $607,400 |
| 5. Washington | $602,200 |
| 6. Colorado | $574,600 |
| 7. Utah | $545,200 |
| 8. Oregon | $497,500 |
| 9. New Jersey | $496,000 |
| 10. New Hampshire | $458,800 |
Data table (52 rows)
| State | 2024 |
|---|---|
| 1. Hawaii | $875,900 |
| 2. California | $759,500 |
| 3. District of Columbia | $733,400 |
| 4. Massachusetts | $607,400 |
| 5. Washington | $602,200 |
| 6. Colorado | $574,600 |
| 7. Utah | $545,200 |
| 8. Oregon | $497,500 |
| 9. New Jersey | $496,000 |
| 10. New Hampshire | $458,800 |
| 11. Rhode Island | $455,700 |
| 12. Nevada | $455,500 |
| 13. New York | $449,800 |
| 14. Idaho | $446,400 |
| 15. Maryland | $436,300 |
| 16. Arizona | $426,000 |
| 17. Montana | $425,400 |
| 18. Virginia | $403,500 |
| 19. Connecticut | $396,900 |
| 20. Florida | $396,900 |
| 21. Alaska | $376,500 |
| 22. Delaware | $371,600 |
| United States | $360,600 |
| 23. Vermont | $352,800 |
| 24. Minnesota | $344,600 |
| 25. Georgia | $343,300 |
| 26. Maine | $341,900 |
| 27. Wyoming | $339,500 |
| 28. North Carolina | $333,000 |
| 29. Tennessee | $332,600 |
| 30. Texas | $313,200 |
| 31. South Carolina | $299,500 |
| 32. Wisconsin | $294,700 |
| 33. South Dakota | $289,600 |
| 34. Illinois | $280,700 |
| 35. New Mexico | $279,900 |
| 36. Pennsylvania | $277,600 |
| 37. North Dakota | $266,100 |
| 38. Nebraska | $263,100 |
| 39. Missouri | $254,400 |
| 40. Michigan | $254,200 |
| 41. Indiana | $243,500 |
| 42. Ohio | $239,800 |
| 43. Kansas | $238,700 |
| 44. Alabama | $233,300 |
| 45. Iowa | $227,300 |
| 46. Kentucky | $226,000 |
| 47. Louisiana | $223,200 |
| 48. Oklahoma | $222,100 |
| 49. Arkansas | $215,600 |
| 50. Mississippi | $186,500 |
| 51. West Virginia | $170,800 |
The same values in today's dollars
$458,146 in 2024 (estimate). The median home value of each survey year restated in 2025 dollars, using the Bureau of Labor Statistics' annual average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, U.S. city average, all items. BLS publishes no Idaho or state-level index, so the national one deflates every geography.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Median home value in 2025 dollars (computed by Understand Idaho). Published .
Data table (14 rows)
| Period | Median home value in 2025 dollars (dollars) |
|---|---|
| 2010 | $243,758 |
| 2011 | $227,282 |
| 2012 | $216,644 |
| 2013 | $219,736 |
| 2014 | $224,795 |
| 2015 | $239,470 |
| 2016 | $254,059 |
| 2017 | $272,007 |
| 2018 | $298,856 |
| 2019 | $321,368 |
| 2021 | $438,770 |
| 2022 | $475,783 |
| 2023 | $452,852 |
| 2024 | $458,146 |
Change in house prices over the year
2.34% in 2025 (estimate). Year-over-year percent change in FHFA's annual, all-transactions house price index, as FHFA publishes it (not computed from two index values here). Nominal, not adjusted for inflation; identical whichever of FHFA's three index rebasings is used, so comparable across geographies and across years in a way the index level is not.
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Published .
Data table (50 rows)
| Period | House price index, annual change (percent) |
|---|---|
| 1976 | 6.31% |
| 1977 | 12.26% |
| 1978 | 17.94% |
| 1979 | 8.82% |
| 1980 | 4.67% |
| 1981 | 1.71% |
| 1982 | 2.94% |
| 1983 | 3.04% |
| 1984 | 1.78% |
| 1985 | 1.37% |
| 1986 | 0.98% |
| 1987 | −0.67% |
| 1988 | −0.45% |
| 1989 | 4.55% |
| 1990 | 7.18% |
| 1991 | 5.74% |
| 1992 | 5.57% |
| 1993 | 8.59% |
| 1994 | 6.13% |
| 1995 | 6.72% |
| 1996 | 2.55% |
| 1997 | 2.67% |
| 1998 | 2.65% |
| 1999 | 1.84% |
| 2000 | 2.30% |
| 2001 | 4.38% |
| 2002 | 2.58% |
| 2003 | 2.53% |
| 2004 | 6.73% |
| 2005 | 15.74% |
| 2006 | 16.84% |
| 2007 | 5.38% |
| 2008 | −2.16% |
| 2009 | −7.43% |
| 2010 | −10.60% |
| 2011 | −8.73% |
| 2012 | 0.19% |
| 2013 | 5.26% |
| 2014 | 6.86% |
| 2015 | 5.80% |
| 2016 | 7.40% |
| 2017 | 9.28% |
| 2018 | 12.11% |
| 2019 | 11.20% |
| 2020 | 8.69% |
| 2021 | 23.07% |
| 2022 | 19.88% |
| 2023 | −0.22% |
| 2024 | 3.94% |
| 2025 | 2.34% |
Change in house prices over the year by county
Percent
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Data period 2025. Published .
- −10.07% to 0.13%
- 0.14% to 1.35%
- 1.36% to 2.7%
- 2.71% to 6.37%
- 6.38% to 18.18%
- No figure
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Data period 2025. Published .
Data table (41 rows)
| County | 2025 |
|---|---|
| Power County | 18.18% |
| Jerome County | 15.51% |
| Benewah County | 13.61% |
| Adams County | 12.44% |
| Elmore County | 9.53% |
| Owyhee County | 7.16% |
| Blaine County | 6.81% |
| Shoshone County | 6.55% |
| Jefferson County | 6.38% |
| Bingham County | 6.22% |
| Minidoka County | 5.06% |
| Gooding County | 4.00% |
| Clearwater County | 3.96% |
| Valley County | 3.22% |
| Kootenai County | 2.94% |
| Gem County | 2.83% |
| Ada County | 2.71% |
| Fremont County | 2.47% |
| Franklin County | 2.38% |
| Butte County | 2.14% |
| Madison County | 2.12% |
| Caribou County | 1.74% |
| Boundary County | 1.68% |
| Washington County | 1.60% |
| Canyon County | 1.36% |
| Bonner County | 1.32% |
| Bonneville County | 0.88% |
| Nez Perce County | 0.87% |
| Twin Falls County | 0.82% |
| Bannock County | 0.59% |
| Oneida County | 0.29% |
| Bear Lake County | 0.15% |
| Idaho County | 0.14% |
| Payette County | −0.96% |
| Latah County | −1.53% |
| Lemhi County | −2.93% |
| Cassia County | −3.81% |
| Boise County | −6.88% |
| Teton County | −8.94% |
| Custer County | −9.97% |
| Lincoln County | −10.07% |
Change in house prices over the year by metro area
Percent
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Data period 2025. Published .
Data table (7 rows)
| Metro area | 2025 |
|---|---|
| Coeur d'Alene, ID | 2.94% |
| Twin Falls, ID | 2.90% |
| Boise City, ID | 2.63% |
| Idaho Falls, ID | 2.29% |
| Logan, UT-ID | 2.13% |
| Lewiston, ID-WA | 1.89% |
| Pocatello, ID | 0.59% |
House price index since 1975
1,130.8 in 2025 (estimate). FHFA's annual, all-transactions house price index: a repeat-sales measure of cumulative price appreciation, set to 100 in the first year each geography is reported (1975 for the United States and for Idaho's state series; later for some counties and metros; see caveats). Nominal, not adjusted for inflation.
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Published .
Data table (51 rows)
| Period | House price index (100 in the first year reported) (index) |
|---|---|
| 1975 | 100.00 |
| 1976 | 106.31 |
| 1977 | 119.35 |
| 1978 | 140.75 |
| 1979 | 153.16 |
| 1980 | 160.31 |
| 1981 | 163.04 |
| 1982 | 167.84 |
| 1983 | 172.94 |
| 1984 | 176.02 |
| 1985 | 178.43 |
| 1986 | 180.19 |
| 1987 | 178.98 |
| 1988 | 178.18 |
| 1989 | 186.29 |
| 1990 | 199.66 |
| 1991 | 211.13 |
| 1992 | 222.89 |
| 1993 | 242.03 |
| 1994 | 256.87 |
| 1995 | 274.14 |
| 1996 | 281.12 |
| 1997 | 288.62 |
| 1998 | 296.28 |
| 1999 | 301.74 |
| 2000 | 308.68 |
| 2001 | 322.20 |
| 2002 | 330.50 |
| 2003 | 338.87 |
| 2004 | 361.68 |
| 2005 | 418.60 |
| 2006 | 489.10 |
| 2007 | 515.43 |
| 2008 | 504.28 |
| 2009 | 466.79 |
| 2010 | 417.31 |
| 2011 | 380.87 |
| 2012 | 381.59 |
| 2013 | 401.67 |
| 2014 | 429.22 |
| 2015 | 454.11 |
| 2016 | 487.69 |
| 2017 | 532.96 |
| 2018 | 597.49 |
| 2019 | 664.38 |
| 2020 | 722.15 |
| 2021 | 888.76 |
| 2022 | 1,065.41 |
| 2023 | 1,063.09 |
| 2024 | 1,104.93 |
| 2025 | 1,130.80 |
House price index since 1975 by state
Idaho ranked 15th highest among 50 states and the District of Columbia in 2025, at 1,130.8.
Index
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency, House Price Index, Annual (Developmental). Data period 2025. Published .
An excerpt; the full table is below.
| State | 2025 |
|---|---|
| 1. District of Columbia | 1,971.35 |
| 2. California | 1,967.71 |
| 3. Washington | 1,865.78 |
| 4. Massachusetts | 1,685.35 |
| 5. Hawaii | 1,549.11 |
| 6. Rhode Island | 1,416.71 |
| 7. Oregon | 1,388.62 |
| 8. Colorado | 1,369.00 |
| 9. New Jersey | 1,361.35 |
| 10. Utah | 1,316.50 |
Data table (52 rows)
| State | 2025 |
|---|---|
| 1. District of Columbia | 1,971.35 |
| 2. California | 1,967.71 |
| 3. Washington | 1,865.78 |
| 4. Massachusetts | 1,685.35 |
| 5. Hawaii | 1,549.11 |
| 6. Rhode Island | 1,416.71 |
| 7. Oregon | 1,388.62 |
| 8. Colorado | 1,369.00 |
| 9. New Jersey | 1,361.35 |
| 10. Utah | 1,316.50 |
| 11. Montana | 1,294.38 |
| 12. New Hampshire | 1,290.65 |
| 13. New York | 1,275.02 |
| 14. Maine | 1,225.97 |
| 15. Idaho | 1,130.80 |
| 16. Arizona | 1,120.76 |
| 17. Nevada | 1,090.25 |
| United States | 1,060.69 |
| 18. Vermont | 1,036.55 |
| 19. Florida | 1,027.11 |
| 20. Connecticut | 1,003.17 |
| 21. Maryland | 1,002.21 |
| 22. Virginia | 986.93 |
| 23. Wyoming | 907.50 |
| 24. Minnesota | 904.05 |
| 25. Tennessee | 877.10 |
| 26. North Carolina | 875.31 |
| 27. Delaware | 862.08 |
| 28. Pennsylvania | 858.55 |
| 29. New Mexico | 850.41 |
| 30. Wisconsin | 843.90 |
| 31. South Dakota | 842.79 |
| 32. South Carolina | 836.52 |
| 33. Texas | 818.30 |
| 34. Michigan | 788.79 |
| 35. Nebraska | 777.82 |
| 36. Georgia | 773.38 |
| 37. Kentucky | 767.85 |
| 38. Indiana | 741.82 |
| 39. North Dakota | 735.95 |
| 40. Missouri | 734.81 |
| 41. Illinois | 725.39 |
| 42. Alaska | 680.74 |
| 43. Ohio | 674.68 |
| 44. Oklahoma | 666.98 |
| 45. Kansas | 663.38 |
| 46. Arkansas | 656.56 |
| 47. Iowa | 646.57 |
| 48. Alabama | 628.36 |
| 49. Louisiana | 610.62 |
| 50. Mississippi | 505.65 |
| 51. West Virginia | 462.17 |
Home value as a multiple of household income
5.5 in 2024 (estimate). Median home value divided by median household income for the same survey period, both from the American Community Survey.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho). Published .
Data table (14 rows)
| Period | Home value to income ratio (ratio) |
|---|---|
| 2010 | 3.80 |
| 2011 | 3.66 |
| 2012 | 3.40 |
| 2013 | 3.40 |
| 2014 | 3.45 |
| 2015 | 3.65 |
| 2016 | 3.66 |
| 2017 | 3.97 |
| 2018 | 4.19 |
| 2019 | 4.18 |
| 2021 | 5.56 |
| 2022 | 5.94 |
| 2023 | 5.72 |
| 2024 | 5.50 |
Home value as a multiple of household income by county
Ratio
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho). Data period 2020-2024. Published .
- 3.48 to 3.93
- 3.94 to 4.65
- 4.66 to 5.13
- 5.14 to 6.09
- 6.1 to 8.64
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho). Data period 2020-2024. Published .
Data table (44 rows)
| County | 2020–2024 |
|---|---|
| Valley County | 8.64 |
| Blaine County | 7.94 |
| Bonner County | 7.28 |
| Teton County | 6.92 |
| Madison County | 6.89 |
| Gem County | 6.64 |
| Kootenai County | 6.34 |
| Lemhi County | 6.13 |
| Boundary County | 6.11 |
| Adams County | 6.09 |
| Boise County | 6.04 |
| Custer County | 5.65 |
| Latah County | 5.63 |
| Ada County | 5.60 |
| Owyhee County | 5.59 |
| Camas County | 5.25 |
| Franklin County | 5.18 |
| Washington County | 5.15 |
| Canyon County | 5.10 |
| Payette County | 5.05 |
| Twin Falls County | 5.01 |
| Benewah County | 4.91 |
| Elmore County | 4.84 |
| Shoshone County | 4.82 |
| Jefferson County | 4.71 |
| Idaho County | 4.68 |
| Bonneville County | 4.66 |
| Nez Perce County | 4.61 |
| Bannock County | 4.52 |
| Clearwater County | 4.47 |
| Lewis County | 4.37 |
| Fremont County | 4.32 |
| Butte County | 4.10 |
| Cassia County | 4.02 |
| Gooding County | 3.95 |
| Clark County | 3.93 |
| Jerome County | 3.79 |
| Bingham County | 3.77 |
| Minidoka County | 3.73 |
| Bear Lake County | 3.65 |
| Oneida County | 3.63 |
| Lincoln County | 3.58 |
| Caribou County | 3.51 |
| Power County | 3.48 |
Home value as a multiple of household income by state
Idaho ranked 11th highest among 50 states and the District of Columbia in 2024, at 5.5.
Ratio
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho). Data period 2024. Published .
An excerpt; the full table is below.
| State | 2024 |
|---|---|
| 1. Hawaii | 8.69 |
| 2. California | 7.58 |
| 3. District of Columbia | 6.69 |
| 4. Washington | 6.06 |
| 5. Colorado | 5.92 |
| 6. Oregon | 5.84 |
| 7. Massachusetts | 5.79 |
| 8. Montana | 5.65 |
| 9. Utah | 5.64 |
| 10. Nevada | 5.61 |
Data table (52 rows)
| State | 2024 |
|---|---|
| 1. Hawaii | 8.69 |
| 2. California | 7.58 |
| 3. District of Columbia | 6.69 |
| 4. Washington | 6.06 |
| 5. Colorado | 5.92 |
| 6. Oregon | 5.84 |
| 7. Massachusetts | 5.79 |
| 8. Montana | 5.65 |
| 9. Utah | 5.64 |
| 10. Nevada | 5.61 |
| 11. Idaho | 5.50 |
| 12. Rhode Island | 5.46 |
| 13. New York | 5.24 |
| 14. Arizona | 5.23 |
| 15. Florida | 5.11 |
| 16. New Jersey | 4.76 |
| 17. Tennessee | 4.62 |
| 18. New Hampshire | 4.60 |
| 19. North Carolina | 4.50 |
| 20. Wyoming | 4.49 |
| 21. Maine | 4.47 |
| United States | 4.42 |
| 22. Virginia | 4.38 |
| 23. Georgia | 4.29 |
| 24. Vermont | 4.26 |
| 25. Delaware | 4.25 |
| 26. Maryland | 4.24 |
| 27. South Carolina | 4.14 |
| 28. Connecticut | 4.13 |
| 29. New Mexico | 4.13 |
| 30. Minnesota | 3.96 |
| 31. Alaska | 3.94 |
| 32. Texas | 3.93 |
| 33. Wisconsin | 3.80 |
| 34. South Dakota | 3.77 |
| 35. Louisiana | 3.66 |
| 36. Pennsylvania | 3.58 |
| 37. Missouri | 3.55 |
| 38. Michigan | 3.51 |
| 39. Alabama | 3.50 |
| 40. Kentucky | 3.50 |
| 41. Arkansas | 3.47 |
| 42. Nebraska | 3.44 |
| 43. North Dakota | 3.42 |
| 44. Indiana | 3.38 |
| 45. Illinois | 3.37 |
| 46. Oklahoma | 3.36 |
| 47. Ohio | 3.32 |
| 48. Kansas | 3.16 |
| 49. Mississippi | 3.15 |
| 50. Iowa | 3.01 |
| 51. West Virginia | 2.81 |
The typical home purchase mortgage
$385,000 in 2025. The middle loan amount among originated home-purchase mortgages.
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser.
Data table (8 rows)
| Period | Median home purchase mortgage amount (dollars) | Median value of homes bought with a mortgage (dollars) | Median income of home purchase borrowers (dollars) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $215,000 | $255,000 | $69,000 |
| 2019 | $245,000 | $275,000 | $72,000 |
| 2020 | $275,000 | $325,000 | $75,000 |
| 2021 | $345,000 | $415,000 | $85,000 |
| 2022 | $375,000 | $465,000 | $99,000 |
| 2023 | $355,000 | $435,000 | $105,000 |
| 2024 | $375,000 | $445,000 | $109,000 |
| 2025 | $385,000 | $455,000 | $112,000 |
The typical home purchase mortgage by county
Dollars
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
- $175,000 to $291,999
- $292,000 to $314,999
- $315,000 to $344,999
- $345,000 to $374,999
- $375,000 to $635,000
- No figure
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
Data table (43 rows)
| County | 2025 |
|---|---|
| Teton County | $635,000 |
| Valley County | $555,000 |
| Blaine County | $525,000 |
| Boise County | $455,000 |
| Kootenai County | $445,000 |
| Bonner County | $435,000 |
| Ada County | $425,000 |
| Boundary County | $395,000 |
| Camas County | $375,000 |
| Canyon County | $375,000 |
| Latah County | $375,000 |
| Jefferson County | $365,000 |
| Madison County | $365,000 |
| Franklin County | $355,000 |
| Gem County | $355,000 |
| Bonneville County | $345,000 |
| Elmore County | $345,000 |
| Oneida County | $345,000 |
| Owyhee County | $345,000 |
| Lemhi County | $335,000 |
| Lincoln County | $335,000 |
| Nez Perce County | $335,000 |
| Payette County | $325,000 |
| Power County | $325,000 |
| Bannock County | $315,000 |
| Bingham County | $315,000 |
| Jerome County | $315,000 |
| Twin Falls County | $315,000 |
| Adams County | $305,000 |
| Benewah County | $305,000 |
| Washington County | $305,000 |
| Fremont County | $300,000 |
| Cassia County | $295,000 |
| Minidoka County | $295,000 |
| Caribou County | $290,000 |
| Idaho County | $285,000 |
| Gooding County | $275,000 |
| Shoshone County | $275,000 |
| Custer County | $245,000 |
| Clearwater County | $240,000 |
| Bear Lake County | $230,000 |
| Lewis County | $230,000 |
| Butte County | $175,000 |
Mortgage interest rates
6.25% in 2025. The middle note rate among originated home-purchase mortgages.
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser.
Data table (8 rows)
| Period | Median interest rate on home purchase mortgages (percent) |
|---|---|
| 2018 | 4.625% |
| 2019 | 4.000% |
| 2020 | 3.090% |
| 2021 | 2.990% |
| 2022 | 4.875% |
| 2023 | 6.375% |
| 2024 | 6.500% |
| 2025 | 6.250% |
Home purchase applications denied
5.19% in 2025. Share of decided home-purchase mortgage applications that the lender denied.
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser.
Data table (8 rows)
| Period | Home purchase mortgage denial rate (percent) |
|---|---|
| 2018 | 7.29% |
| 2019 | 5.96% |
| 2020 | 6.22% |
| 2021 | 5.47% |
| 2022 | 6.21% |
| 2023 | 6.30% |
| 2024 | 5.91% |
| 2025 | 5.19% |
Home purchase applications denied by county
Percent
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
- 0.0% to 4.76%
- 4.77% to 5.99%
- 6.0% to 7.11%
- 7.12% to 11.38%
- 11.39% to 17.5%
- No figure
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
Data table (43 rows)
| County | 2025 |
|---|---|
| Custer County | 17.50% |
| Bear Lake County | 17.02% |
| Fremont County | 15.45% |
| Adams County | 15.15% |
| Lemhi County | 13.46% |
| Franklin County | 13.07% |
| Power County | 11.90% |
| Caribou County | 11.54% |
| Bonner County | 11.43% |
| Blaine County | 11.34% |
| Benewah County | 10.96% |
| Teton County | 9.93% |
| Clearwater County | 8.70% |
| Oneida County | 8.06% |
| Madison County | 7.71% |
| Washington County | 7.69% |
| Shoshone County | 7.26% |
| Valley County | 7.09% |
| Minidoka County | 6.87% |
| Gooding County | 6.78% |
| Boundary County | 6.60% |
| Nez Perce County | 6.49% |
| Jefferson County | 6.33% |
| Elmore County | 6.31% |
| Bingham County | 6.14% |
| Cassia County | 6.02% |
| Jerome County | 5.94% |
| Idaho County | 5.45% |
| Kootenai County | 5.23% |
| Twin Falls County | 5.12% |
| Camas County | 5.00% |
| Owyhee County | 4.94% |
| Gem County | 4.89% |
| Bannock County | 4.87% |
| Latah County | 4.71% |
| Lewis County | 4.55% |
| Boise County | 4.35% |
| Bonneville County | 4.26% |
| Ada County | 4.16% |
| Canyon County | 4.04% |
| Payette County | 3.54% |
| Butte County | 3.45% |
| Lincoln County | 0.00% |
Home purchase mortgages made
22,685 in 2025. First-lien home-purchase loans on principal residences (one to four units, site-built) made during the year.
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser.
Data table (8 rows)
| Period | Home purchase mortgages originated (count) |
|---|---|
| 2018 | 29,571 |
| 2019 | 30,068 |
| 2020 | 32,999 |
| 2021 | 29,766 |
| 2022 | 23,375 |
| 2023 | 19,290 |
| 2024 | 20,642 |
| 2025 | 22,685 |
Home purchase mortgages made by county
Count
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
- 4 to 42
- 43 to 96
- 97 to 186
- 187 to 386
- 387 to 7,148
Source: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser. Data period 2025.
Data table (44 rows)
Source
- Organization
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Dataset
- American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates
- Geography
- Nation and states, including the District of Columbia, plus the five Idaho places with population over 65,000: Boise City, Caldwell, Idaho Falls, Meridian and Nampa
- Time coverage
- 2010-2019, 2021-2024
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Published
- Original file
- https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/summary_file/2024/table-based-SF/data/1YRData/acsdt1y2024-b19013.dat
- Methodology
- https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/methodology.html
- License
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Our copy
- American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates
Caveats
- Values are single-year American Community Survey (ACS) estimates; margins of error are not shown.
- Dollar figures are in that survey year's dollars, not adjusted for inflation across years.
- One-year estimates are not comparable to the Census Bureau's 5-year estimates for the same geography or measure, even when the years overlap.
- There is no standard 2020 ACS 1-year release: the Census Bureau replaced it with experimental COVID-19 estimates, so 2020 is omitted here.
- One file is read for each year, and for 2010 through 2019 each year's figures come from a separate Census API request that requires a Census Bureau API key.
- Place figures are for the incorporated city as the Census Bureau defines its boundary, not the metro area or county.
- Which of Idaho's places clear the 65,000-person floor for 1-year estimates can vary by year.
The same values in today's dollars:
- Organization
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Dataset
- Median home value in 2025 dollars (computed by Understand Idaho)
- Geography
- Nation and states, including the District of Columbia, plus the five Idaho places with population over 65,000: Boise City, Caldwell, Idaho Falls, Meridian and Nampa
- Time coverage
- 2010-2019, 2021-2024
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Published
- Original file
- https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/summary_file/2024/table-based-SF/data/1YRData/acsdt1y2024-b19013.dat
- License
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Our copy
- Median home value in 2025 dollars (computed by Understand Idaho)
Caveats
- Computed by Understand Idaho from American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates and Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U), U.S. city average, all items; it is not a figure the publisher releases.
- The index is set so the average of the years 1982 through 1984 equals 100; a value is meaningful only compared with the index in another year, not against a dollar amount.
- This is CPI-U (all urban consumers), U.S. city average, all items, not seasonally adjusted. BLS publishes no Idaho or other state-level Consumer Price Index; the nearest published sub-national series is the CPI-U for the West region, a multi-state Census region that is not Idaho and is not the series stored here.
- The annual average for a year is not published until BLS has released all twelve months of that year, so the newest year in this dataset lags the current year by several months.
- BLS published an annual average for 2025 based on eleven of the twelve months: October 2025 data was not collected because of that year's lapse in appropriations, the same gap documented in this site's Unemployment (LAUS) dataset.
- Early years in this series carry one decimal place of precision and recent years carry three, exactly as BLS publishes them; this reflects a change in the Bureau's own published precision over the series' history, not a difference this site introduced.
Inputs: American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates and Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U), U.S. city average, all items.
Change in house prices over the year:
- Organization
- Federal Housing Finance Agency
- Dataset
- House Price Index, Annual (Developmental)
- Geography
- Nation, all 50 states and DC, Idaho's 42 reported counties, and Idaho's 7 metropolitan areas
- Time coverage
- 1975-2025
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Published
- Original file
- https://www.fhfa.gov/hpi/download/annual/hpi_at_state.xlsx
- Methodology
- https://www.fhfa.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/bdl_faqs_local_hpis.pdf
- License
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Our copy
- House Price Index, Annual (Developmental)
Caveats
- This is the all-transactions, developmental version of the house price index, the only version FHFA publishes at annual frequency and its widest-coverage one: the purchase-only version is monthly and quarterly only and is not published below the state level. FHFA's monthly and quarterly file carries no annual rows at all, so no quarter was averaged into a year here.
- The index is set to 100 in the first year FHFA reports that specific geography, not a single shared base year: national, most states and several Idaho counties (e.g. Ada, Bonneville) start at 1975, while other Idaho counties start as late as 2001-2003 depending on when enough repeat sales existed. Idaho's own state series starts at 1975.
- An index measures cumulative price change for repeat sales of the same houses; it is not a price level, is not comparable in value across geographies (two geographies both near 1,100 have not converged on the same price), and is not comparable to a median or average sale price from another dataset.
- FHFA calls the county and metro series 'developmental' because their sample sizes are smaller than the state and national series: a county-year or metro-year with too few repeat sales is not reported at all rather than estimated. Idaho's Camas and Clark counties have no rows in FHFA's county file for any year. Within counties that are otherwise reported, Custer (2023), Lewis (2022, 2024, 2025), Nez Perce (1984) and Power (1988, 1989) each have one or more gap years with no reported value; none is interpolated or carried forward.
- FHFA states that these annual indexes 'should be considered developmental' and that 'revisions to these indexes may reflect the impact of new data or technical adjustments,' with no per-value preliminary/revised flag published, so every observation is stored as status estimate.
- Both the index and its annual change are nominal, not adjusted for inflation: each workbook titles the series 'Cumulative (Nominal) Annual Appreciation.' A rise over a long span (decades) includes general price inflation over that span, not only a change in house prices relative to other goods.
Home value as a multiple of household income:
- Organization
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Dataset
- Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho)
- Geography
- Nation and states, including the District of Columbia, plus the five Idaho places with population over 65,000: Boise City, Caldwell, Idaho Falls, Meridian and Nampa
- Time coverage
- 2010-2019, 2021-2024
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Published
- Original file
- https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/summary_file/2024/table-based-SF/data/1YRData/acsdt1y2024-b19013.dat
- License
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Our copy
- Home value to income ratio (computed by Understand Idaho)
Caveats
- Computed by Understand Idaho from American Community Survey, 1-Year Estimates; it is not a figure the publisher releases.
The typical home purchase mortgage:
- Organization
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
- Dataset
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser
- Geography
- Idaho and its 44 counties
- Time coverage
- 2018-2025
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Original file
- https://ffiec.cfpb.gov/data-browser/
- Methodology
- https://ffiec.cfpb.gov/documentation/publications/loan-level-datasets/lar-data-fields
- License
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Our copy
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Data Browser
Caveats
- Figures cover only loans to buy a home: first-lien mortgages on a principal residence, a site-built house or other dwelling of one to four units. Refinances, home equity loans, second homes, rental and investment properties, manufactured homes and loans bought from other lenders are left out, as are applications withdrawn or closed before a decision.
- HMDA covers lenders above a size threshold that make a home loan in a metropolitan area, so a few small lenders and some small-lender loans in rural counties are not reported. Cash purchases are not in the data at all.
- The publisher does not date its releases, so no publication date is shown. Lenders can correct earlier filings, so a year's figures can change slightly on later releases.
- A few loans carry no county in the public file, and a few carry the county of a neighboring state. They are counted in the Idaho totals and in no Idaho county, so county counts add to slightly less than the state's.
- The public file rounds loan amounts and property values to the midpoint of a $10,000 range, so a median is a multiple of $2,500 or $5,000, not an exact dollar figure. Borrower income is reported in whole thousands of dollars.
- Income is the gross annual income the lender relied on, usually the borrowers' combined income; loans with no income reported are left out of the income median. The same holds for loans with no reported interest rate or property value.
- A county's medians and denial rate are shown only when at least 10 loans (or 10 decided applications for the denial rate) were reported that year, so the smallest counties have gaps.
Cite
Cite this page as Understand Idaho, “Idaho home prices”, https://understandidaho.com/housing/home-prices/, retrieved on the date you read it, and the publisher named above for the figures themselves. The dataset behind it is described in the data catalog.
This page was last updated .