Electric utility reliability
Annual electric distribution reliability reported by each Idaho utility to the Energy Information Administration on Form EIA-861: the system average interruption duration index (SAIDI, minutes of interruption per customer per year) and the system average interruption frequency index (SAIFI, interruptions per customer per year). Most utilities report under IEEE Standard 1366, a national reliability definition; a few small ones use an internally defined standard instead.
Figures
Minutes
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Annual Electric Power Industry Report, Form EIA-861 (Reliability). Data period 2025. Published .
Records
Idaho utility reliability, latest year
One row per Idaho utility per year it filed reliability figures on Form EIA-861.
Data table (10 rows)
| Utility | Customers | Minutes without power per customer | Interruptions per customer | Minutes with major events | Interruptions with major events |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fall River Rural Elec Coop Inc | 18,819 | 7.049 | 0.061 | 7.304 | 0.063 |
| City of Idaho Falls - (ID) | 33,875 | 16.76 | 0.2 | 50.61 | 0.47 |
| Idaho Power Co | 636,130 | 141.162 | 0.963 | 170.963 | 1.029 |
| Kootenai Electric Cooperative | 35,029 | 93.58 | 0.719 | 368.9 | 1.35 |
| Missoula Electric Coop, Inc | 70 | 0.772 | 0.138 | 7.79 | 0.15 |
| Northern Lights, Inc | 19,250 | 417.45 | n/a | 1,053.88 | n/a |
| PacifiCorp | 91,462 | 145.95 | 1.16 | 145.95 | 1.16 |
| Salmon River Electric Coop Inc | 3,114 | 356.051 | 3.824 | 356.051 | 3.824 |
| United Electric Co-op, Inc - (ID) | 7,692 | 118.2 | 1.01 | 225.72 | 1.52 |
| Avista Corp | 148,201 | 208 | 1.2 | 973 | 1.89 |
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Annual Electric Power Industry Report, Form EIA-861 (Reliability). Published .
Pages built on this dataset
Publisher
- Organization
- U.S. Energy Information Administration
- Publisher’s dataset
- Annual Electric Power Industry Report, Form EIA-861 (Reliability)
- File or API used
- https://www.eia.gov/electricity/data/eia861/zip/f8612025.zip
- Methodology
- https://www.eia.gov/electricity/data/eia861/
Coverage
- Geography
- Idaho utilities only; the source file covers every state.
- Time coverage
- 2013-2025
- Update frequency
- Annual
- Published
- October 7, 2026
- Retrieved
- October 12, 2026
- License of the records
- Public domain. U.S. federal government work.
- Rows
- 153 observations, 95 records, 2013-2025
Measures
| Measure | What it measures | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| Power outage minutes per customer | SAIDI (System Average Interruption Duration Index) without major event days: minutes of power interruption the average customer of an Idaho utility experienced in the year, reported under IEEE Standard 1366. | minutes |
| Power interruptions per customer | SAIFI (System Average Interruption Frequency Index) without major event days: interruptions per customer per year for an Idaho utility, reported under IEEE Standard 1366. | ratio |
Record fields
One row per Idaho utility per year it filed reliability figures on Form EIA-861.
year: Data year.utility_id: EIA utility number.utility: Utility name as EIA printed it that year.standard: "IEEE" (IEEE Standard 1366) or "Other" (an internally defined standard), whichever block of columns the utility filed under that year.saidi_with_med: SAIDI including major event days, minutes per customer per year, or left blank when not reported.saifi_with_med: SAIFI including major event days, interruptions per customer per year, or left blank when not reported.saidi_without_med: SAIDI excluding major event days, minutes per customer per year, or left blank when not reported.saifi_without_med: SAIFI excluding major event days, interruptions per customer per year, or left blank when not reported.customers: Number of customers under that standard's reporting, or left blank when not reported.
Caveats
- SAIDI and SAIFI are as reported by each utility to EIA; this site does not recompute them.
- IEEE Standard 1366 lets a utility exclude 'major event days,' meaning days with unusually severe storms or other extreme conditions, from its headline SAIDI and SAIFI figures; the records table also gives the figures with those days included.
- A few small Idaho utilities report under an internally defined 'Other' standard rather than IEEE 1366. Their figures are kept in the records table but excluded from the two measures below, since mixing measurement rules under one figure would compare different definitions of an interruption. Northern Lights, Inc reports under the Other standard in every year it has filed; Kootenai Electric Cooperative reported under the Other standard from 2013 through 2017 and under IEEE from 2018 on.
- Not every utility files every year; a utility absent from a year's records filed no reliability figures that year (commonly a Short Form filing).
- Utility names are made consistent across years wherever this dataset groups figures by utility (Kootenai Electric Cooperative is printed 'Kootenai Electric Coop Inc' in the 2017 file); the records table keeps the name EIA printed that year.
- Reliability reporting on Form EIA-861 began with the 2013 data year.
How to cite
Understand Idaho, “Annual Electric Power Industry Report, Form EIA-861 (Reliability)”, compiled from U.S. Energy Information Administration, Annual Electric Power Industry Report, Form EIA-861 (Reliability). Retrieved October 12, 2026. https://understandidaho.com/data/eia-reliability-idaho/.
Cite U.S. Energy Information Administration directly for the figures themselves.
This page was last updated .